Skip to content

WTF, DailyKitten.com???

July 11, 2013

I linked over to the new Kindle book, “Kitten Care For Beginners,” from the dailykitten website with high hopes – clearly those people love kittens, and almost all the kittens they feature seem to have been rescued from the streets, shopping centers, and parks of the country.  Because I foster for a cat rescue organization, it would be so nice to have an inexpensive resource to help people prepare for the addition of kittens to their lives.

However, after reading the preview excerpt I was horrified.  This book suggests that “kittens that come from breeders are also less likely to have health concerns.  Many charity based organizations simply take in any cat or kitten that needs a home, and then look for good owners.”  As if that is a bad thing.

They go on to say: “This means that many of the cats they take in have been in the streets or similar surroundings. They may have parasites, illnesses, malnourishment and other problems.  Charity organizations will do what they can to restore the health [of] a cat before sending it into a new home, but they can only reverse so much damage in so little time.”  They further assert that kittens from breeders are more likely to be friendly and easygoing because they have not had to fend for themselves.  They then add that if you want a kitten, you are more likely to find one at whatever time you want it, whereas charity organizations may not always have kittens but rather a “random selection of cats,” and that if they do have kittens they were most likely separated from their mother too early which also causes health issues.

Finally they say that adopting from shelters is going to be the hardest and require the most sacrifice from an adopter because you’re probably going to have to “settle for” an adult cat, and that cats that have been through hard times are less likely to trust you and “there is no telling what you will have to overcome with this pet”.
This just takes my breath away.  So little of it is true, and what truth it contains is so woefully out of context that I have to wonder if the author is a breeder.   I don’t have any interest in what else this book might have to say after reading this intro.  If I could give it zero stars believe me I would.  I wonder how many cats in shelters will be put to sleep because people who read this book decide they’d rather spend $2000 to buy a kitten from a breeder.  DailyKitten, I’m ASHAMED of you.

UPDATE 7/16 – the book appears to have been withdrawn and republished – the sample appears to no longer include the lengthy section recommending cats from breeders.  I don’t know if it’s gone, or if it’s just not in the sample and you only see it if you pay for the book.  I may buy it just to see, because the table of contents looks promising.  I wonder if there was some error in the first version?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2013 3:58 pm

    actually, a lot of what they say is true, but simply framed in a way to make rescue kittens seem inferior.. and yes, I would agree with the thought that the author is probably a breeder, or had such bad experience with a shelter as to ruin it for all the kittens out there, because as we all know there are some pretty paltry shelters who do the bare minimum, and kittens are lucky to get out of those alive.

    I don’t believe being able to get a kitten when ever you want is a good thing. in fact for the most part it is horrible because they come from kitten mills. And frankly kitten mill kittens are no healthier – and are often far sicker – than shelter kittens. It also feeds into the pain and misery of the parents. Breeding litter after litter makes her sicker and makes her produce kittens that are more likely to get sick. I see it all the time with fall fosters.. A cat who gives birth twice in one year often is painfully under nourished and thus produce kittens that are under nourished and it takes almost nothing for them to get sick.

    as for kittens who once had to fend for themselves not being more loving.. ha ha ha ha ha..I have some of the most excessively ‘Velcro’ kitties and many of them had the worst start in life..

    Look, some people want a status cat.. they want what they want when they want it and sadly there is no convincing them that there are kitten mills and that animals had to suffer so they can get what they want. but yes, I’m a little taken aback that Daily Kitten would promote such a book / philosophy.

    • July 11, 2013 4:02 pm

      I went over to dailykitten.com and linked over to the amazon page to see this for myself. I do not see the preview you are talking about. I also see in the author notes that the author is heavy into rescue and fosters kittens.

      That seems TOTALLY out of character for someone in rescue and who fosters to write what you mention in this preview (which I don’t see – but it has been a very long day)

      • July 11, 2013 4:05 pm

        found it under ‘sample’ wow.. .. just wow..

  2. July 11, 2013 6:30 pm

    I will go read the preview too but I think, based on what you said, that they are totally full of it.

  3. July 11, 2013 11:19 pm

    Wow. That’s horrible. I will check this out…

  4. July 12, 2013 6:35 am

    I went over to Amazon and wrote my own review. I think we all need to stand together and make sure people are NOT misinformed. Thousands upon thousands of shelter cats and kittens die in the US every year….and we all have see “pure bred” cats there too. All three of mine are rescues and they are sooooo sweet and such loving lapcats. One even purrs so hard he stard “cooing”. I could not have gotten better cats. 1 came off the streets, 1 came from a rescue, and the third came from my local kill shelter.

    • July 12, 2013 6:37 am

      we all have seen “pure bred” cats there too
      One even purrs so hard he starts “cooing”.

      Sorry for the typos.

  5. July 12, 2013 8:26 am

    That is seriously, seriously awful.

  6. Dorothy permalink
    July 12, 2013 8:43 am

    Interestingly — or maybe weirdly — Amazon seems to have dropped this book now. YAY!!! Seriously, the links to it no longer work, and even searching for it by title on Amazon … the cover comes up, but even trying to get to the book that way no longer works. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of Amazon dropping anything, but … 🙂

  7. July 12, 2013 8:52 am

    Thank you for your post and all the wonderful people in the cat community. There was enough bad press that the book is no longer available on Amazon and The Daily Kitten has taken down their link/ad! Great job everyone!!

    AND thank you for bringing to our attention!!! 🙂

  8. July 12, 2013 12:12 pm

    Yep, I started to do my post and it’s gone…at least for now.

  9. July 15, 2013 1:57 pm

    Is this the same book? http://www.amazon.com/Kitten-Care-For-Beginners-ebook/dp/B00DY4A41O/ The Amazon listing has a publication date of 7/14/2013, so maybe the author pulled the old listing and made a new one? I don’t see anything about shelter kittens mentioned in the excerpt, but I couldn’t say whether it was rewritten or the excerpt just shortened since I didn’t see the original one.

    • fotyc permalink
      July 15, 2013 4:16 pm

      Hm, not sure! Certainly all the introductory material I saw in the look-inside is not visible there now. I’ve asked for the sample so I can see if the stuff is still there but hidden from the casual browser… Thanks for the heads-up!

  10. July 16, 2013 10:48 am

    The Daily Kitten has always been biased toward inbred cats. I once posted a comment about a Persian kitten with a jaw deformity (which is common in Persians since their muzzles are bred to be so pushed in) and got jumped on. Over a hundred people called me elitist (?), a troll, uninformed, etc.

    It was an eye-opener and I haven’t been back since. I’m glad to hear they revised the book.

Leave a Pawprint

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.