Skip to content

Re-Gizmo

October 26, 2015

We had a very busy weekend in the cat room, and it will take a day or two to explicate all the goings-on.  But I’m going to start with this guy.

We had not been there very long on Saturday when someone came to the door with a cat carrier.  When I went out to talk to him, he said that they’d adopted this cat here, and knew that they were supposed to return him if they couldn’t keep him.

Technically, what the contract says is that they are supposed to call Last Chance’s office and make an appointment to return the cat to Waldorf.  I phoned the emergency number and we agreed that I should tell them to do that, but that if I felt that the cat was not going to be treated properly in the interim I should just take it and we would handle it.

Mr. Dumbass (I don’t mind letting my personal opinion show a bit here…) said that he couldn’t bring the cat back home, that his wife was now pregnant and the smell of the litterbox made her throw up.  I had all kinds of impolite thoughts about this, but just decided we’d make room for him.  I did not offer to return the carrier, I just took the poor cat and told the guy to go away.  We made room for him (not enough room) by dividing one of our big cages.  He’s now gone back to Last Chance to be processed in and hopefully returned to us to try again.

Needless to say he’s depressed.

Gizmo4

Gizmo5

Gizmo6

Poor boy.  If you were a big gorgeous eight year old Maine Coon, dumped back in the system again, you’d be depressed too.  I told him that I knew his heart was broken, but those people weren’t worth it and didn’t deserve him and we’d find someone better.  I hope we can do that.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Terri permalink
    October 26, 2015 10:34 am

    Grrrrrrr…..if Mr. Dumbass would clean the litterbox, he could have solved the problem. This cat would be a great pet for the baby. Maine Coons are so mellow.

  2. Webbthistle permalink
    October 26, 2015 7:21 pm

    So sad..especially after reading the earlier post about Gizmo. I really hope someone recognizes what a treasure he is and offers him his TRUE perfect home soon!

  3. October 26, 2015 10:13 pm

    Oh no! Poor guy. I hate when people flake out on pet ownership. It’s a commitment, people!!

  4. October 28, 2015 4:23 pm

    that is so sad.. but I’m sure the right people will come along in no time.

Leave a Pawprint

