Skip to content

Melody

February 27, 2013

This girl was a challenging one.  When we first came in the room, she came right to the front of her cage and meowed at us for attention, which I took as a very good sign.  So I opened her cage as soon as I could, to meet and pay attention to her.  She seemed to like it, but then all of a sudden while I was petting her she backed up and hissed and swiped.  Hm.  Later on, when I bent down to look in on the two sad sisters who were her downstairs neighbors, she came and whacked at the back of my head.  So, I don’t know what her story is, and we’ll have to see if any of the other volunteers made headway with her this week.

Ironically, the black and white cat we recently had named Harmony presented similar interaction challenges.  Maybe things would have been better if we could have put Melody and Harmony together…  or, probably, not.

I wonder whether her ear was intentionally tipped and whether that is a clue to her origins.  We have had cats come in with what appeared to be tipped ears before, and they have definitely run the gamut from delightfully friendly to skittish.

Mode 1:  “I want attention, please pet me.”

Melody1

Mode 2:  “Hm.  Who are you?”

Melody2

Mode 3: “There, I have told you to keep away, haven’t I?”

Melody3

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 27, 2013 9:03 pm

    Difficult, indeed! We’ve had kitties like this at our shelter, too. Sometimes it takes quite some time until they *really* feel comfortable enough to truly relax. I hope it happens soon for Harmony and Melody.

Leave a Pawprint

