Skip to content

Foster Friday

January 18, 2013

Little old Patches is coming along nicely, all the things that were hurting her have been taken care of and she is resting and eating and purring.  Yesterday I put her on my lap while I did some things at my desk and she purred like crazy – it was almost like she had to remember what it meant to be on a lap.

A vet visit found that she is a little arthritic, has good kidneys and isn’t diabetic but is hyperthyroid.  She may get radiocat treatment to fix that, depending upon what we decide about a little mass that the vet found on one of her mammary glands – I guess the next step is going to be to biopsy that.  The results will probably determine what we can or should do for her.

Meantime she’s eating and sleeping and looking better.

Patches17

Patches18

Patches16

Such eyes!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Leslie Strauss permalink
    January 18, 2013 12:24 pm

    I’m so glad she’s doing so well, and she definitely looks better! I have to say, though, that her tail is about the most pitiful thing I’ve ever seen. 🙂

  2. January 18, 2013 2:03 pm

    She is a sweetie and a cutie-pa-tootie!

  3. January 18, 2013 2:10 pm

    I’m glad Patches is feeling a little better. Nothing better than a purring, contented kitty on your lap, right? 🙂

  4. Webbthistle permalink
    January 18, 2013 7:26 pm

    Sweet girl! Wishing her the best!

  5. January 19, 2013 11:17 am

    Wow! Patches is sooo beautiful! I love her colouring her fluffiness and her big lovely eyes! She reminds me a lot of the cat from puss in boots. Im glad she is getting all the care she needs! Honestly I could not imagine someone NOT wanting that little doll! Followed 🙂

  6. doodlethebean permalink
    January 21, 2013 9:34 pm

    I’m so glad you are giving that nice old lady a chance to live out her life in peace, happiness and as much health as can be expected. I hope the mass is nothing to worry about.

    Regarding the hyperthyroid, my bitchy old lady is doing well on the Hill’s Science Diet hyperthyroid food… and she likes the taste, too! Just an idea if the radiotherapy isn’t indicated.

  7. doodlethebean permalink
    January 21, 2013 9:34 pm

    P.S. Are there such a thing as butt sweaters to keep those arthritic joints warm?

Leave a Pawprint

